The Young Elite by Marie Lu – My new favorite

 4.5/5 

I cried out in anger. Literally. This ending …. and now I have to wait until October 6th?? Oh, please, dear lord, make it stop. I can’t suffer that long.
I’m serious. This book is … so much better than her Legend-cycle (well, I still have to read the last book but nevermind)! Like an addict I read everywhere: while I was walking, standing and of course on the train … and when I should listen to my lectures. I’m lost. I can’t say anything without going mad, because I can’t continue reading this marvelous book.
But I’ll try.

Summary:81JbgVO-5sL
This is the story of Adelina Amouteru, a marked girl who survived the blood fever and is now a so called “Malfettos”. Repressed by her cruel father who considers her as useless and an abomination. After facing execution she was saved by  the “Young Elites”, a group of remarkable Malfettos with special powers. She has a special power, too and they offer her to train her in exchange for her alliance with them.
But while she begins to like the Young Elites, her little sister Violetta is imprisoned by the leader of the inquisition and … so there are some very huuuge complications. 
That’s where my summary is getting worse. I can’t say more about what is going to happen, you just have to read this magnificent book!

Opinion:
As expected it is written so delightful that you can’t stop yourself from … inhaling this story as quick as possible. The main characters are lovable and three dimensinal. While you struggle at first to dive into the thoughts of Adeline you come to the conclusion that she is indeed as real as possible. Everything she decides or does is understandable and mainly reasonable.

This story really gets you. When I saw that there were just a few pages left I figuratively was … kind of heart broken.
There is only one thing that is troubling me. Adelina does not really … develope throughout the story. She is stuck and does not know which way to go. She never decides truly who she wants to be or become. And at the end I’ve lost her … I couldn’t relate anymore to such deeply rooted hatred, pain and agony. Somewhere I’ve read that she was originally ment as a minor character but then the author had a change of heart.

I didn’t realise this was originally a villain-story until I’ve noticed this in some of the other reviews. But after knowing I can understand now why Adeline is who she is, or at least will become. A bittersweet taste is left but I am really looking forward to the next part. I still hope, that there is a way to save some characters, most of all Adeline.
Hope dies last.

So, please! Go and read this book and make up your mind. If you love a dark, renaissance-influenced fantasy world which will pull you in deeper and deeper – then go for it!  … and if you don’t you are truly missing out on something!

picture by amazon.com

One thought on “The Young Elite by Marie Lu – My new favorite

  1. Pingback: ” Red Queen ” – Victoria Aveyard | bloodystranger

Leave a Reply

