Scarlet (A Robin Hood story) – by A. C. Gaughen

4/5 ★

Scarlet is a book I wanted to read for a veeeery long time. So, here we go!

Yes, I’ll admit it … one of the “I-love-the-cover-let’s-grab-it!”-Books. I mean, look at it! Every girl who loves stories about girls disguising themselves as boys because they’re so much smarter than everyone else will take this book back home.

What happens?

Scarlet is a thief, a pretty good one. Working hand in hand with Robin Locksley or better none for Robin the Hood and his two fellows Much and John (John Little), they steal from the rich and give it to the poor – so that they can pay their horribly high taxes to the cruel and mean and very, very bad Sheriff of Nottingham.
We are leaving Scarlet’s obvious eating disorder out and will deal with the real problem here. Some douche bounty hunter was hired by the unforgivingly very bad Sheriff to get the “band”, as they call themselves, caught or killed (killed, I think).
While Scarlet is the “every-time-someone-asks-questions-about-my-past-I’ll-hide-somewhere”-type, Robin tries to figure out how to save the people of this poor little town and how to get Scarlet to unravel herself. Turns out, there are way more secrets that you would’ve guessed.

Opinion

I really had to get used to Scarlet’s slang. I don’t know if this was really regular for the commoners but she was (actually) the only one talking like this. That was quite annoying but never mind, you get used to it very quickly.
Scarlet is a very fascinating character, with fascinating I mean: Sometimes you want to slap her though in some other moments you are just surprised how badly she wants to survive anything. It was clear from the beginning that she was hiding everything about her, but you get to enjoy the journey when she is talking about her past and you are trying to piece everything together.
The interpretation of John little was a bit confusing. In “Scarlet” he’s a lady killer and creeping me out, I can’t really say why but he is!
Robin, by the way, is just perfect. Cute, good-looking, handsome, charismatic, brave etc. but sometimes he has his outtakes (as Scarlet does – that’s why they fit together perfectly!). For God’s sake, tell Scarlet if you like her and Scarlet, get yourself together and figure out what you want.
What struck me most were the brutality and the big amount of blood that was shed. (For a girl’s book, let it be understood) It’s not the lovely tale of Marian and Robin, where you can turn everything into a happy ending – it’s the story of starving, desperate people who need a hero like “Robin Hood.”
I liked it, but I was missing the spark. Sometimes everyone gets so whiny or the story is stagnating and last but not least: No kissing. … and I mean, no kissing of the people who should kiss! … I know, I know, that’s so girly.

Leave a Reply

