“What If” or “The F – Word”

Harry Potter isn’t Harry Potter anymore, it’s Daniel Radcliffe, an incredibly talented actor who is one of the nicest and funniest guy’s in Hollywood. Well, I haven’t met him personally (of course not, look at me) but the way he’s acting in interviews and doing pranks or rapping the “Alphabet Aerobics” on the Fallon-show, I think that’s enough material to prove his awesomeness.

I didn’t actually plan on reviewing movies (I mean, I don’t plan at all, what is not the best way to behave when you’re studying.) but I watched this one about ten minutes ago and I had to share my opinion with you!

The Plot

“Wallace (Daniel Radcliffe) is a medical school dropout who’s been repeatedly burned by bad relationships. While everyone around him seems to be finding the perfect partner, including his friend Allan (Adam Driver) in girlfriend Nicole (Mackenzie Davis), Wallace decides to put his love lif on hold.
It is then that he meets Chantry (Zoe Kazan), an animator who lives with her longtime boyfriend Ben (Rafe Spall). Wallace and Chantry form an instant connection, striking up a close friendship. There is no denying the chemistry between them, leading the pair to wonder, what if the love of your life is actually your best friend?”

taken from here

Opinion

Because I was getting more and more unproductive, just lying around and dreaming while doodling some really ugly flying furniture, I thought I should watch a movie and not “Crazy Stupid Love” (I did it anyway) but a movie, I haven’t seen but always wanted to watch. So, I remembered this one and I got cosy with my hot tea and my laptop on my lap.

And I wasn’t disappointed. It’s refreshing to see actors who are (in my opinion) underrated, bring life into such an common but still interesting story.  The whole movie captures you and doesn’t let go. You have to watch the two main characters Chantry and Wallace establish a friendship (you well know between you and your bestie) but with a little more chemistry. It’s so funny it hurts, because on the other side Wallace torments himself because he doesn’t want to risk his friendship but clearly wants to be more than friends with Chantry.
In the beginning I really struggled to like Chantry, because I feared she would turn out as a stupid b*tch (like the movie 500 Days of Summer) but no worries, this movie is really, really good.

You’ll like the dialogs, you’ll like their weird friends, you might like her longtime boyfriend not so much but he’s just really not interesting enough to dislike him. Brilliant performance by Daniel Radcliffe and Zoe Kazan! (And I really liked that little Chantry-look-alike fairy who accompanies her throughout the movie)
I totally recommend watching this lovely movie!

If you want to get a feeling for this cute romantic comedy, here you go with the trailer (and if you are interested in an Interview with Daniel R., you know what to do ;))

Have a lovely day and If you leave a comment (I’m curious what you might think!) I would be very, very happy 😀

Images taken from here and here

3 thoughts on ““What If” or “The F – Word”

  1. Ich hatte von dem Film noch nichts gehört, aber nach deinem schwärmerischen Beitrag 😉 habe ich mir den Trailer angeschaut – und der wirkt sehr vielversprechend!
    (Damit hatte ich ehrlich gesagt nicht gerechnet, denn er fing nicht ganz so vielversprechend an. Dann musste ich aber an einigen Stellen wirklich lachen.)

    Ich glaube, ich werde mir diesen Film mal anschauen. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

